skip to main content

Cuomo Taps Law Professor for Transition Team


Andrew M. Cuomo (FCRH ’79), New York state attorney general-elect, introduced the members of his transition team in a news conference at Fordham Law School on Monday, Nov. 20, at which he named former Fordham Law Dean John D. Feerick, J.D., co-chair of the public integrity committee.

Cuomo said his priorities included changing the political culture of corruption and inaction in Albany, and enforcement of civil rights, environmental and gun laws. Former state attorney general Robert Abrams will head the transition team, which will help Cuomo recruit “the best and the brightest” for his office. Its seven committees include Washington veterans Robert Reich, former labor secretary, Robert Rubin, former treasury secretary, and Louis Freeh, former director of the F.B.I., as well as a number of prominent Republicans, such as attorney Edward Cox and Westchester County District Attorney Janet DiFiore.

Feerick, the Sidney C. Norris Chair of Law in Public Service at Fordham, introduced Cuomo, and said he appreciated the opportunity to help steer the public integrity committee, an area of longstanding interest to him. In his remarks, the new attorney general said Feerick “literally wrote the book on government integrity,” referring to Feerick’s work as chair of the State of New York  Commission on Government Integrity from 1987 to 1990, and his introduction for the book, Government Ethics Reform for the 1990s(Fordham University Press, 1991), the collected reports of that commission, edited by Bruce A. Green, J.D.,  Louis Stein Professor of Law and director of the Louis Stein Center for Law and Ethics at Fordham.


Comments are closed.