skip to main content

Fordham Hall of Fame Inducts Nine New Members


Left to right: Joseph M. McShane, S.J., president of Fordham University; Bob Alymer, Dan Gallagher, Susan Amelio Voltz, Denise Corrado, Aaron Dougherty, Mark Gibbons, J. Michael Lemke, Bevon Robin, Tom Gleason and Frank McLaughlin, executive director of athletics at Fordham.
Photo by Vincent Dusovic

Nine new members were inducted into the Fordham University Athletic Hall of Fame on Feb. 18, joining such notable former Rams as Frankie Frisch, Vince Lombardi, John Bach, Ed Conlin and Peter Harnisch. The ceremonies started with a Hall of Fame Mass in the University Church, followed by the official awards brunch in the McGinley Center Ballroom, attended by more than 400 family, friends and Fordham fans who turned out to see the newest inductees.

Following the ceremony, the Hall of Famers and their guests attended the Fordham men’s basketball game against Duquesne University in the Rose Hill Gym. The new Hall of Famers were recognized at halftime.

Fordham University Athletic Hall of Famers 2007

Bob Alymer, CBA ’92
Alymer was a dominant pitcher for the Rams’ staff from 1987 until 1990, leading Fordham to three ECAC championships and three NCAA Regional appearances while setting school records for most saves in a season.

Susan Amelio Voltz, CBA ’83
Amelio Voltz was a four-year member of the swimming team, helping the Rams to four straight winning seasons from 1979 through 1983, while setting numerous school records that were not broken until the early 1990s.

Denise Corrado, FCRH ’97
Corrado was a four-year member of the Fordham women’s soccer squad, helping establish the Ram program after the sport was elevated to varsity status at Fordham in 1993. She became the first Fordham female soccer student-athlete to earn All-Atlantic 10 honors, being named First Team All-Conference in both 1995 and 1996.

Aaron Dougherty, CBA ’95
Dougherty was one of the top defensive players for the football Rams during the 1990s. He was named First Team All-Patriot League in 1992 and 1992 and then capped his career by being named the 1993 Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year while leading the conference in total tackles.

Dan Gallagher
Gallagher served as head baseball coach at Fordham for 21 years, retiring in 2004 with 518 career wins in 21 years, finishing second to only legendary Fordham head coach Jack Coffey on the school’s all-time win list. Included in his coaching tenure are seven league championships, four ECAC titles, and five NCAA Tournament berths.

Tom Gleason, CBA ’79
Gleason was one the top record-setting swimmers in Fordham University history. After qualifying for the NCAA Championships as a sophomore, he set the school 100 butterfly record as a junior and was a member as senior of the 400 free relay team that set the school record, which still stands today.

Mark Gibbons, FCRH ’96
Gibbons teamed with another 2007 Hall of Famer, J. Michael Lemke, to form the most decorated pair of men’s rowers in Fordham history as they became one of only 20 college rowers to win national collegiate championships in varsity events all four years. During his career, he won ECAC National Invitational Collegiate Regatta, Intercollegiate Rowing Association and Dad Vail Championships and also qualified for the Henley Royal Regatta in Great Britain.

J. Michael Lemke, CBA ‘96
Along with 2007 Hall of Famer Mark Gibbons, Lemke was part of the most decorated pair of men’s rowers in Fordham history. Over his career, he won the ECAC National Invitational Collegiate Regatta, Intercollegiate Rowing Association and Dad Vail Championships and he was named an Academic All-American his sophomore, junior, and senior years.

Bevon Robin, FCRH ’01
Robin is one of the most prolific scorers in Fordham University basketball history. The first Ram to lead the team in scoring for four straight years, he graduated second on the all-time scoring list, trailing only Fordham Hall of Famer Ed Conlin. He started his career earning 1998 Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Year honors as a freshman and capped it in 2001 by receiving the Vincent T. Lombardi Award as the school’s top male student-athlete.

By Joe DiBari


Comments are closed.