skip to main content

Sports Teams Honored by NCAA for High Academic Achievement


Six Fordham University athletic teams were among more than 800 Division I squads to be recognized by the NCAA for their latest Academic Progress Rate (APR) scores.

Being honored for the Rams are: baseball, men’s tennis, women’s soccer, women’s indoor track, women’s outdoor track and women’s tennis.

Of these teams, baseball, men’s tennis, women’s indoor track and women’s outdoor track have been honored in each of the three years that the NCAA has released scores. Women’s tennis is being recognized for the second time, while women’s soccer is receiving its first such accolade.

The teams posted multi-year APR scores in the top 10 percent of all squads in their respective sports. The APR provides a real-time look at a team’s academic success each semester by tracking the academic progress of each student-athlete. The criteria for measurement, including eligibility, retention and graduation, provide a clear picture of the academic culture in each sport.

“It is a great achievement for the six teams that have been recognized by the NCAA, especially the four programs that have been acknowledged in each of the past three years,” said Frank McLaughlin, executive director of athletics. “The individuals from these teams are great examples of how Fordham student-athletes successfully balance their academic and athletic pursuits.”

The six teams that were honored rank Fordham second in the Atlantic 10 conference, tied with Dayton and one behind Xavier.

Among the 31 Division I conferences, the Ivy Group had the most teams honored (144), followed by the Patriot League (85), the Big East Conference (60), the Atlantic Coast Conference (51) and the Atlantic 10 (50).

“I applaud all of our institutions and student-athletes for the great example they have set,” said Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade. “Being recognized for outstanding academic achievement, combined with tremendous athletic success, is a great compliment to the educational mission of the A-10 and its member institutions.”


Comments are closed.